January 30, 2014

Elton John:Goodbye Yellow Brick Road Reissue Set for Release

A deluxe reissue of Elton John’s seminal Goodbye Yellow Brick Road is set for release on March 24 on Universal Music Catalogue/Mercury.

A remastered version of the 1973 LP will be released on CD, vinyl and limited edition yellow vinyl.

A box set will also be released containing a recording of Live At Hammersmith 1973; a DVD of Brian Forbes’ 1973 film Elton John And Bernie Taupin Say Goodbye To Norma Jean And Other Things; and a 100-page book of rare photos, memorabilia and interviews.

Meanwhile, a deluxe edition box set will include nine new cover versions of classic Yellow Brick Road tracks performed by Ed Sheeran, Emeli Sandé, Fall Out Boy, Hunter Hayes, Imelda May, John Grant, Miguel featuring Wale, The Band Perry and Zac Brown Band.

The original album spent eight weeks at No.1 and went platinum seven times over in the US, selling 31 million copies worldwide.

Complete list of the cover versions suite on the Box Set and Deluxe Edition:

1. Ed Sheeran - Candle In The Wind

2. Miguel featuring Wale - Bennie And The Jets

3. Hunter Hayes - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

4. The Band Perry - Grey Seal

5. John Grant - Sweet Painted Lady

6. Emeli Sandé - All The Girls Love Alice

7. Imelda May - Your Sister Can’t Twist (But She Can Rock And Roll)

8. Fall Out Boy - Saturday Night’s Alright For Fighting

9. Zac Brown Band - Harmony

Complete list of formats of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road:

- 1-CD set: 2014 CD remaster of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering from the original analogue tapes. Digital equivalent editions: Remaster, Mastered For iTunes, HD Edition

- 2-CD set: 2014 CD remaster of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road as above, 9 cover versions, best of Live At Hammersmith CD

Digital equivalent editions: Remaster, Mastered For iTunes

- Five Disc CD/DVD box set: containing standard album, 9 cover version disc, single B-sides and bonus tracks, complete live At Hammersmith CD, DVD of Bryan Forbes’ 1973 film Elton John And Bernie Taupin Say Goodbye To Norma Jean and Other Things, and 100-page illustrated hardback book packed with rare photos, memorabilia and a new essay containing interviews with Elton John and Bernie Taupin). Digital editions for audio: Remaster, Mastered For iTunes

- Standard 12” vinyl album. Mastered for vinyl by Doug Sax and Robert Hadley at The Mastering Lab, California. 180GM audiophile quality vinyl with download card

- Limited edition yellow vinyl

- HD Pure Audio Blu-ray album

Please follow TMW on Twitter and M.A. Cassata on  Facebook.

Post a Comment